What are The Seven Wonders of the World?

What are The Seven Wonders of the World?

In 2000, a campaign was started to choose the Wonders of the World from more than 200 existing monuments. The voting of the top 7 Wonders of the World was done through a web-based voting system. The voting process was organized and controlled New 7 Wonders Foundation (N7W).

The organization was based in Zurich, Switzerland. More than 100 million people voted to declare the New Seven Wonders of the World. However, the voting process was associated with many disadvantages; the system did not limit the number of times one could vote. The winners were declared in 2007.

Below are the seven winners of Wonders of the World according to the 2007 worldwide web-based voting.

1. Christ the Redeemer

Christ the Redeemer is a statue of Jesus that is found in Brazil. The statue is found at the top of Corcovado Mountain, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The construction of the statue started in 1922 and was completed in 1931. The statue was proposed after World War I when some Brazilians feared a tide of godlessness. The money to construct the statue was raised through donations. It is approximated that the cost used in constructing the statue was equivalent to US250, 000.

The statue was designed by Heitor Da Costa, and then the work was created by two sculptors, namely Paul Landowski and Gheorghe Leonida. The statue has a base of 28 feet and a height of 98 feet tall. Christ the Redeemer statue is made of reinforced concrete, and the outer layer is soapstone.

Due to its tallness, the statue has been struck by lightning many times.

2. Great Wall of China

The Great wall of Chinal

The Great Wall of China is an ancient wall in china that was built across the northern border of ancient Chinese states and Imperial China. The wall was built as protection against various nomadic groups from Eurasian Steppe. The Great Wall of China is one of the largest building-construction projects. It covers around 4900 miles long, 30 feet wide, and 15 feet high. Its construction started in the 17th century and was completed in 1878. The Great wall is made of rocks, cement, and bricks.

The wall has watchtowers, soldiers’ houses, and beacons to send smoke signals.

3. Colosseum


Colosseum is an architectural (amphitheater) empire that is found in Rome. The Roman amphitheater was built between A.D. 70 and A.D 80. It was constructed during the reign of Emperor Vespasian. The architectural amphitheater has a width of 620 feet and a length of 513 feet. The theatre can hold more than 50,000 spectators. It is the largest amphitheater. In the ancient days, many activities and events were carried out in the amphitheater. After the fall of the Roman Empire, the amphitheater was used as a housing complex. Earthquakes have left the amphitheater in a state of ruin, and the monument has remained to be a tourist site.

4. Taj Mahal  

Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal, which is located in Agra, India, was built between 1632 and 1648. The mausoleum was built during Emperor Shan Japan reign and was commissioned to honor his wife, Mumtaz Mahal, who died in 1631. The mausoleum, a Muslim art, is made of white marble that represents different architectural designs, symmetry, and balance. More than 20, 000 workers were hired to construct the historical mausoleum that took more than 22 years of construction.

The complex was surrounded by a beautiful environment which includes a reflecting pool and beautiful flowers that beautified the compound around the mausoleum. Taj Mahal is regarded as the world’s iconic monuments and was voted as one of the seven wonders of the world in 2007. In the present years, restoration efforts have been made to the complex so as to repair the parts damaged by lightning and to protect the marble facades from pollution.

5. Machu Picchu.

Machu Picchu.

This is an Incan site near Cuzco, Peru. The city is found between two peaks of mountain Citadel. The site was built in the mid-1400s during the reign of Inca’s Emperor, Pachacuti before the mountain was abandoned. The site remained unknown up to 1911 when it was discovered by Hiram Bingham. Machu Picchu was built in the classical Inca style, with polished dry-stone walls. The site has at least 200 buildings that are arranged on wide terraces.  

 On its discovery, it was believed to be a secret Incan stronghold that was used during the rebellion of Spanish rule. It was later believed that it was home to women who lived under a vow of chastity.

6. Chichén Itzá

Chichén Itzá


Chichén Itzá is an ancient Maya city that is found in Mexico. Chichén Itzá is one of the largest Maya cities. The ancient city flourished between the 9th and 10th centuries. The city had many monuments and temples that were built within it. The most notable and known monument is the stepped pyramid El Castillo commonly known as the “The Castle.” The Castle has a maximum height of 79 feet above the ground and consists of a series of nine square terraces. The four sides of the pyramid have protruding stairways. The structure has 365 steps.

Around the spring, autumn equinoxes and in the late afternoon the pyramid cast a series of triangular shadows that give the appearance of a serpent on the base of the pyramid.

7. Petra


The ancient city of Petra located in Jordan was the capital of the Nabataean empire of King Aretas IV that existed in 9 B.C. The city was believed to have a population of more than 30,000 people. The city was surrounded by mountains which formed a valley. Many economic activities were conducted within the ancient city.

The city is associated with many monuments and temples. However, Petra grew in the 1st when its famous monument was built, Al-Khazneh. This mausoleum was built during the reign of King Aretas IV. However, in 106 AD, the Petra city declined when it lost its independence to the Romans. The lost its importance further when the trade was replaced with sea trade. The earthquake that occurred in 363 AD destroyed many structures within Petra city.

The city was rediscovered in 1812 by Johann Ludwig Burckhardt and was named as one of the seven wonders of the world in 2007.






Leave a Reply